A Snood by Any Other Name – Free Pattern

I’m so excited to post my first pattern and to celebrate it’s free!  I’ve had a lot of people asking me if I had a pattern for this snood.  So I decided to put pen to paper and write it up. This is my first attempt at writing a pattern, so if you find any mistakes, please let me know.

A Snood by Any Other Name

A pattern by Purple Sprouting                               

A Snood by Any Other Name

A Snood by Any Other Name

 A circular snood/cowl crocheted in the round. It is quick and easy to make and can easily be made longer, by adding more stitches, in multiples of 3. 

Abbreviations (US terms):

sl st – slip stitch                    dc – double crochet              ch – crochet chain

What you’ll need

Yarn:

I used 2 balls of Moda Vera 100% Soft Acrylic yarn in charcoal but you can use any other DK/8 ply yarn.

Hook:

4.5 mm

G / 4 mm

Other:

Scissors

Yarn needle

Pattern Instructions:

Foundation Row – Using size G (4.5 mm) hook, make a foundation chain of 126 chains.

Row 1:            Change to size F (4 mm) hook and being careful not to twist foundation row, work first dc into 3rd chain from the hook.  Work one dc into each chain across and join with a sl st into top of ch3. (124 chains)

Rows 2 & 3:  ch3 (counts as first dc), dc into each chain across, join with a sl st into top of first ch3.

Row 4:  ch5, (counts as 1 dc and 2 chains) skip next 2 chains, work 1 dc in next stitch, *ch2, skip 2 stitches, 1 dc into next stitch* repeat * * to last 3 stitches, ch2 and sl st into ch3 of first ch5.

Row 5:  ch3 (counts as first dc), dc into each chain across, joint with a sl st into top of first ch3.

Rows 6 – 8:  repeat row 4

Rows 9 – 12:  repeat row 5

Row 12:  as row 4

Row 13:  as row 5

Rows 14 – 30:  Repeat rows 4 and 5 (row 30 will be the same as row 4)

Rows 31 – 34:  as row 5

Row 35 – 37: as row 4

Row 36:  as row 5

Row 37:  as row 4

Row 38:  as row 5

Row 39:  as row 4

Rows 40-42: as row 5, sl st into top of first ch3 and fasten off.

Sew in loose ends.

Grey_snood_2

This pattern and design are copyright protected and you may not distribute or sell paper or electronic copies of this pattern. You are however permitted to sell items produced from this pattern but please do not share it.

 

About Threadbare and Thrifty

Wife, mum, crochet addict, yarn dye enthusiast and novice gardener.
This entry was posted in Patterns and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Snood by Any Other Name – Free Pattern

  1. Thank you very much! I am practising my crochet since my mum showed me how to do it again the other week. I haven’t done any since I was a child. I’m going to start with a few simple things but this will be the first on my list if I manage to improve. Will definitely let you know how it goes but you may have to wait a while!

  2. You had me at Snood 😉

  3. Pingback: Snood – Pattern translation | UK Crochet Patterns

  4. Grannymar says:

    Love this and I have some lovely pink yarn that would be perfect for it.

Leave a Reply

